Connect with us


Westmeath vs Antrim Previous Senior Hurling Championship Meetings

The Westmeath senior hurling squad pictured prior to their All-Ireland ‘B’ championship defeat at the hands of Antrim in Cusack Park on May 13, 1979.

Back row, left to right: Olly Gallagher, Jimmy Fitzsimons (Clonkill), Michael Kilcoyne, Christy Shaw, Tommy Doyle, Mick Cosgrove, Mick Healy, Frank Shiels, Ger Jackson, Dinny McCormack, Gerry Whelan, James Kilcoyne.

Front row, left to right: Seamus Fagan, John Davis, Mick Ryan, Martin Newman, Johnny Leonard, Pat Dalton, Tommy Daly, Jimmy Fitzsimons (Brownstown), Finbarr Clarke, Olly Boylan.



By Gerry Buckley

Westmeath and Antrim have already met on nine occasions in senior hurling championship action in its various guises. Antrim have won six times, while Westmeath were victorious on the other three occasions when the sides met.

The most high profile game of the nine was an All-Ireland quarter-final on a scorching day in Dundalk almost 27 years ago when the Glensmen, then one of the major powers in the small ball game, inflicted a heavy defeat on a very good Westmeath side which had won the All-Ireland ‘B’ title just a fortnight earlier.




The details of the games to date are as follows:

4/5/1975 Croke Park, Westmeath 2-22 Antrim 2-17 (B)

13/5/1979, Cusack Park, Antrim 2-11 Westmeath 0-13 (B)

18/5/1980, Loughgiel, Antrim 2-14 Westmeath 1-12 (B)

21/7/1991, Dundalk, Antrim 5-11 Westmeath 1-5 (AQ-F)

18/6/2011, Casement Park, Antrim 2-25 Westmeath 1-19 (Q)

19/5/2012, Cusack Park, Westmeath 0-14 Antrim 0-12 (L)

5/5/2013, Cusack Park, Antrim 3-18 Westmeath 2-13 (L)

27/4/2014, Ballycastle, Antrim 0-23 Westmeath 2-11(L)

10/5/2015, Cusack Park, Westmeath 1-21 Antrim 0-7 (L)

B – All-Ireland ‘B’ championship

AQ-F – All-Ireland quarter-final

Q – All-Ireland qualifiers

L – Leinster championship

#WestmeathGaa #IarmhiAbu

Best of Luck Lads!

More in Hurling