Connect with us


Shamrocks win a thriller to end 6 year wait and be crowned kings of Mullingar and Westmeath

Captain Eddie Moore raises the Flanagan Cup

Congratulations to Mullingar Shamrocks who were crowned senior champions for the 12th time yesterday after an absorbing 2-12 to 1-11 win over rivals St.Loman’s in front of a packed TEG Cusack Park.

A brilliant goal from Paddy Fagan helped Shamrocks to a 1-6 to 0-7 lead at the break with Loman’s reduced to 14 after Sean Lancaster was sent-off after only 5 minutes.
Within a few minutes of the restart Loman’s turned the game around as Ken Casey found the net to put the defending champions ahead.
Man of the match Dennis Corroon then fired in Shamrocks 2nd goal not long after to give them a lead they would never relinquish.
Loman’s never gave up and were only a point down entering injury time before Ned Moore’s side sealed victory with points from Corroon, Dean Moore and Michael Curley.

Donal O’Donoghue, Dean Moore and Fagan were just some of Shamrocks star men as Eddie Moore got his hands on the Flanagan Cup.
John Heslin, David Whelan and TJ Cox impressed for Loman’s who have represented Westmeath brilliantly in the last few years and will no doubt be back gunning for more glory in 2019.
Shamrocks now take on reigning Leinster club champions Moorefield ( Kildare) in the 1st round next Sunday at TEG Cusack Park.

Well done to both teams on a thrilling game of football!!!!

The Mullingar Shamrocks Team Who Defeated Tyrrellspass In this Years Senior Semi Final
Back L to R: Daragh Daly, Cormac Murphy, Gary Corroon, Mark Butler, Micheal Curley, Efe Siode, Padraic McKenna, Pearse Corroon, Dillon Matthews, Kieran Gavin, James Grogan, TYe Adamson, Jordan Warde, Paddy Fagan, Donal O’Donoghue, Conor Twomey, Denis Corroon, Simon Quinn.
Front: Ciaran Curley, Brendan O’Reilly, Philly Shaw, Kenneth O’Reilly, Aaron Purcell, Eamonn Breslin, Billy Flynn, Ryan Blundell, Davy Coyne, Paddy Joyce, Killian Daly, Dean Moore, Alan Cashman, Marc Eivers, Ross Corroon, Eddie Moore (capt).

Mullingar Shamrocks: Philly Shaw; Eddie Moore, Kieran Gavin, Killian Daly;  Paddy Joyce, Micheal Curley (0-1), Tye Adamson; Denis Corroon (1-4, 0-3f), Paddy Fagan (1-0); Simon Quinn (0-1), Donal O’Donoghue, Alan Cashman (0-1); Jordan Warde, Darragh Daly, Dean Moore (0-5, 0-2f).

Subs: Billy Flynn for Adamson (35),  Ciaran Curley for Warde (37), Efe Siode for Cashman (49), Aaron Purcell for Joyce (52), Ross Corroon for Flynn (55).

St Loman’s: Stephen Gallagher; Sean Lancaster, Sean Flanagan, Gerry Grehen; Gary Glennon , Paddy Dowdall, David Whelan; Kelvin Reilly, John Heslin (0-9, 0-7f); Conradh Reilly, Paul Sharry, David Windsor (0-1); TJ Cox (0-1), Ronan O’Toole, Ken Casey (1-0).

Subs: Shane Dempsey for C Reilly (h-t), Ciaran Kilmurray for David Windsor (43), Fola Ayorinde for Glennon (58).

More in Club