Connect with us


Lomans and Shamrocks ready for battle in a bid to be crowned kings of Mullingar and Westmeath

Shay Murtagh Senior Football Championship Final @ 3.30PM

St.Loman’s, Mullingar v Mullingar Shamrocks

An exciting senior football championship final is in store as reigning champions Loman’s battle Shamrocks in the first ever all-Mullingar final.

The St Lomans Mullingar Team Who Defeated Garrycastle In this Years Senior Semi Final
Back Row: Sean Kelly, Tristan Graham, Conan O Hara, Gerry Grehan, Kevin Regan, Sam Mc Cartan, Danno Fitzsimons, David Windsor, John Heslin, Sean Lancaster, Sean Daly, James Cox, Jack Tyrrell, Darragh O Keeffe, Kelvin Reilly.
Front Row: Michael Gleeson, T J Cox, Senan Russell, Sean Flanagan, Paddy Dowdall, Christopher Gilbert, Ken Casey, David Whelan, Gary Glennon, Fola Ayorinde, Ronan O Toole, Paul Sharry, Conrad Reilly, Garreth Hickey.

St Loman’s are looking to be only the 4th team ever to win the title 4 times in a row with a win making it 8 senior titles in total. Luke Dempsey’s men have had more players unavailable for different reasons ( such as Paul Sharry and Shane Dempsey) than the last few seasons but that hasn’t stopped them progressing to another county final.

Loman’s won 4 of their 5 games in Group 1, only losing to Tyrellspass, before defeating Garrycastle by 2-10 to 0-12 in the semi-final. Youngsters TJ Cox, who has had a brilliant year, and Chris Gilbert both goaled to secure a 4 point victory.

A forward line containing players such as Ronan O’Toole, Cox, John Heslin and Ken Casey could do damage to any full-back line in the country and if those players can hit top form, Loman’s could well be lifting the Flanagan Cup once again in 2018 and making another attempt at provincial success.


The Mullingar Shamrocks Team Who Defeated Tyrrellspass In this Years Senior Semi Final
Back L to R: Daragh Daly, Cormac Murphy, Gary Corroon, Mark Butler, Micheal Curley, Efe Siode, Padraic McKenna, Pearse Corroon, Dillon Matthews, Kieran Gavin, James Grogan, TYe Adamson, Jordan Warde, Paddy Fagan, Donal O’Donoghue, Conor Twomey, Denis Corroon, Simon Quinn.
Front: Ciaran Curley, Brendan O’Reilly, Philly Shaw, Kenneth O’Reilly, Aaron Purcell, Eamonn Breslin, Billy Flynn, Ryan Blundell, Davy Coyne, Paddy Joyce, Killian Daly, Dean Moore, Alan Cashman, Marc Eivers, Ross Corroon, Eddie Moore (capt).

Mullingar Shamrocks come into the decider on the back of excellent wins over The Downs and Tyrellspass in the last 2 rounds as they look to be named champions for the first time since 2012. Ned Moore’s charges have worked very well defensively this season with captain Eddie Moore, Kieran Gavin, Killian Daly and Micheál Curley just some of the standout performers.

Like their opponents, Shamrocks have also lost 1 game in the championship, to Garrycastle in the group stage. Shamrocks finished 2nd in Group 2 to earn a place in the knockout stages and promotion back up to Group 1 for 2019.

In the quarter-final goals from the impressive Dean Moore and Jordan Warde sealed a 2-8 to 0-8 win over The Downs. Then in the semis the men from Springfield earned a 0-10 to 0-9 win over Tyrellspass thanks to 3 points from Denis Corroon and a late Tye Adamson free.

These 2 sides drew when they last met in the group stages in 2017 and Ned Moore will no doubt have Shamrocks rearing to go come throw-in time, as they look to stop Loman’s dominance and become county champions for the 12th time.

The winners will be at home to  Moorefield/Athy (Kildare) in the 1st round of the Leinster Senior Club Championship.

Photos Courtesy of Danny Boyce.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Club